Although many people are aware that you can sue for physical injuries, fewer people realize that you can also sue for wrongful action, too. This means that victims of sexual abuse can hold their abusers accountable in a civil court, regardless of whether there were official criminal charges brought against the accused perpetrator.
At Zayas Law Firm, we represent clients in various cases that involve wrongful action, including sexual abuse and assault. While it can be daunting to bring a claim in the aftermath of such serious violence, it’s our goal to help guide you through the process and serve as your compassionate advocates. Never backing down from a challenge, we’ll stand by your side and fight for the justice that you deserve.
In this post, we’ll discuss how civil sexual abuse claims work – and how you can take action.
Filing a Civil Claim for Sexual Abuse in Connecticut
According to the Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN), only 5 out of every 1,000 rapists and sexual abusers will go to jail. With thousands of Americans experiencing this form of violence every year, there is a massive backlog of “rape kits” at most of the nation’s police precincts, which is one of the most significant obstructions to criminal justice in these cases. Additionally, most incidents of sexual violence are not even reported to the police, with experts estimating that as many as 3 out of 4 cases go unreported. This means that even more long-term abuse victims may be suffering in silence, especially if they endured abuse as a child.
Even if criminal charges will never be brought against your abuser, however, there is still hope for some degree of justice through the civil court system. Because civil law only requires a “preponderance of the evidence” to issue a verdict in favor of the plaintiff, victims often have an easier time proving their cases in this avenue than in criminal court, where the standard of evidence is “beyond a reasonable doubt.” A civil trial also allows the victim to hold their accused perpetrator accountable in front of a jury of their peers, and can give them closure and peace of mind for their mental health.
How Long Do I Have to File a Sexual Abuse Claim?
Although standard personal injury claims have a statute of limitations within 2 years in Connecticut, claims for child sexual abuse and exploitation can actually be filed decades after the minor has reached the age of legal adulthood. This is because of a 2002 law that was passed in Connecticut, which extended the statute of limitations to 30 years after the age of 18. However, adults have only 3 years from the date of a sexual assault incident to file a claim.
If you have grounds for a civil lawsuit against your abuser, our intentional torts lawyers at Zayas Law Firm are ready to take action on your behalf. Bringing over 44 years of combined experience to the table, our attorneys will work tirelessly to ensure that your voice is heard, whether in trial or in settlement negotiations. Available to you 24/7, we also work on a contingency fee basis so that you can focus on recovering from your injuries and trauma.
Call (888) 486-3037 today for more information about pursuing a sexual abuse claim in Hartford.