When it comes to auto insurance laws, states use one of two main philosophies – they can either be a fault-based insurance state, or they can be a no-fault insurance state. In addition to impacting the type of coverage you will be required to carry, this can also affect your ability to recover compensation if you are injured in a car accident.
Ready to get started? Call our Hartford car accident lawyers today at (888) 486-3037.
Connecticut Uses a Fault-Based System
Since 1994, Connecticut has utilized a fault-based insurance system. This requires you to carry liability insurance which covers at least:
- $20,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $40,000 for death or bodily injury of more than one person
- $10,000 for damage to property
What Does This Mean For My Claim?
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car, truck, or other auto accident, Connecticut’s fault-based system allows you to pursue an injury claim or lawsuit against the liable parties. These typically include the at-fault driver and their insurance company.
This differs from no-fault states, where you may typically only pursue compensation through your own insurance company, and usually may not sue the party who actually caused the accident. Only 12 states currently use a no-fault insurance system, although Connecticut also used a similar system prior to 1994.
Call (888) 486-3037 To Pursue Fair Compensation
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident, you have a right to pursue fair compensation for medical expenses, rehabilitation costs, and much more. At Zayas Law Firm, our Hartford car accident attorneys have handled thousands of personal injury claims, and have a thorough understanding of these complex legal matters. When you hire our firm, we’ll work tirelessly on your behalf so you can focus on getting better.
Injured in Hartford or the surrounding communities? Call today for your free consultation.